ANS Bestows Saltus Award to Mashiko Nakashima

Lost in the Odyssey by Mashiko Nakashima, 2018.
[bsa_pro_ad_space id=4]

The American Numismatic Society has announced that Mashiko Nakashima is the recipient of the Society’s prestigious 2019 J. Sanford Saltus Award for Signal Achievement in the Art of the Medal.

Mashiko grew up in her father’s home city of Kyoto, Japan. In 1962 she moved to the United States, and in 1964 to New York City. There, in 1993, she founded Medialia … Rack and Hamper Gallery, a showplace for contemporary medallic art. Seven years later she founded New Approach, Inc., a non-profit organization that promotes emerging artists and curators and serves as a contemporary medallic-art research center.

Mashiko Nakashima, a Pluri-Awarded Artist

As a prolific sculptor and medallic artist, Ms. Nakashima has received numerous awards, including the American Numismatic Association’s Excellence in Medallic Sculpture Award and the Grand Prix at the XXXV Fédération Internationale de la Médaille d’Art (FIDEM) Congress. Her stone sculptures, medallic art, silkscreen prints, and drawn illustrations are in numerous public collections around the world, including the Cincinnati Art Museum, the National Museum of Taiwan, Kyoto City Hall, the Queens Museum (New York), the American Numismatic Society, the American Numismatic Association, and the British Museum. Her many commissions, from organizations such as the British Art Medal Society and the New York Numismatic Club, include one for a memorial granite headstone for the feminist activist and author Betty Friedan. She has also been invited to submit designs to the U.S. Mint.

Teacher of Craft

In addition to her extensive creative endeavors, she has also been a tireless teacher of her craft, offering courses in medallic and stone sculpture at The University of the Arts, Philadelphia, for two decades (1993–2013). Since 2001 she has also conducted private book-art, medal and urushi workshops.

100 Years Saltus Award

“Mashiko is unquestionably deserving of the Award,” noted Saltus Committee Chairman Donald Scarinci, “not only for her wonderfully creative medallic art, but for all that she has done to teach and promote the medal as well. We are especially pleased to present the Award to her this year, the centennial year of the Award.”

The ceremony will take place at the ANS headquarters in New York City on Thursday, December 12, 2019, at 6 P.M. The Saltus Medal will be presented to Ms. Nakashima by ANS Executive Director Dr. Gilles Bransbourg.

The award was created with a grant to the American Numismatic Society by J. Sanford Saltus in 1913 to recognize and encourage excellence in the art of the medal. The first Saltus Award was presented in 1919; the silver award medal was designed by the prominent German-born numismatic and architectural sculptor Adolph Alexander Weinman.

Mashiko Nakashima joins the ranks of other significant artists who have been awarded the medal including, among dozens of others, James Earl Frazer (1919), Victor D. Brenner (1922), Paul Manship (1925), Lee Lawrie (1937), Donald DeLue (1967), Kauko Räsänen (1986), Gustaaf Hellegers (2001), and João Duarte (2011), and Bogomil Nikolov (2017).


Here you can visit the website of Mashiko Nakashima’s gallery Medialia.

Ms Nakashima has also a LinkedIn profile.

You can read articles on previous recipients of the Saltus award in our archive.

A complete list of all recipients is available on the ANS website.