Saturday, 2023.02.04
Sponsored by

Tag: ANS

Apply for the ANS Summer Seminar in Numismatics 2023

Are you an advanced student or PhD candidate looking for a way to get a grip on numismatics? Apply now for the eight-week ANS Summer Seminar, taught by ANS staff and guest lecturers!

ANS is Guinness World Records Partner

The American Numismatic Society has been named a partner of Guinness World Records. Read on what this means.

New Online Research Tool for Bactrian Indo-Greek Coinage

“Bactrian Indo-Greek Rulers” (BIGR) is a new online typology and research tool for ancient Graeco-Bactrian and Indo-Greek coinage. It was launched by the American Numismatic Society and the Centre for the Study of Ancient Documents at Oxford University.

Heritage Auctions Receives ANS’s 2023 Trustees’ Award

Heritage Auctions will be the recipient of the American Numismatic Society‘s 2023 Trustees’ Award. The auction house will be honored at the 2023 ANS Gala.

David Hendin to Receive the 2022 Burnett Anderson Award

David Hendin is awarded the 2022 Burnett Anderson Award for Excellence in Numismatic Writing. Hendin is a renowned expert of weights and currency of the ancient Levant and author of 18 books, including his “Guide to Biblical Coins”.

Sophia D. Kremydi Receives 2021 ANS Huntington Award

The American Numismatic Society has given the 2021 Archer Milton Huntington Medal Award to Dr. Sophia D. Kremydi. Kremydi is renowned for her research on the ancient economies and material culture of Northern Greece.

Nathan Elkins to Become New ANS Deputy Director

The American Numismatic Society will have a new Deputy Director. Nathan T. Elkins, currently Associate Professor of Art History, will be taking over this position in summer 2022.

ANS Created Chair of Roman Numismatics in Honor of Andrew M. Burnett

The American Numismatic Society has established the Andrew M. Burnett Chair of Roman Numismatics. The chair curator will oversee the continuing development of ANS online resources.

Winner of the ANS’s First Collier Prize Announced

In 2020 the ANS announced a new award, the Collier Prize for the best book on ancient numismatics with a prize money of $20,000. The first winner is Richard Abdy’s “Roman Imperial Coinage” vol. II. 3 on the coinage of the Emperor Hadrian.

Registration for COAC 2021 is Open

The next Coinage of the Americas Conference will be held by the American Numismatic Society from 17th to 18th September 2021. The conference honors the designer of the Lincoln Cent, Victor David Brenner. Who wishes to attend can now register.