Thursday, 23.09.2021
Sponsored by

Tag: Awards

American Numismatic Society 2022 Gala Honors David Hendin

David Hendin will be the next awardee of the ANS Trustees’ Award. The renowned expert on Levant numismatics will receive the award during the ANS Gala dinner in January 2022.

Numismatic Literary Guild Awards 2021 Presented

The Numismatic Literary Guild has presented their annual awards for 2021. Roger W. Burdette is this year’s recipient of The Clemy, the highest honor given by the NLG. Numismatic Guaranty Corporation alone received five awards.

ANA Honors Distinguished Numismatists with Awards

The American Numismatic Association has given their annual awards to members honoring their service and dedication to numismatics. Here is a complete list of the awardees who were acknowledged at the Chicago World’s Fair of Money in 2021.

Royal Numismatic Society Awards Gilljam Prize to George Watson

Royal Numismatic Society has awarded the Gilljam Prize to George Watson for his book “Connections, Communities, and Coinage: The System of Coin Production in Southern Asia Minor, AD 218–276.”

Royal Belgian Numismatic Society Accepts Submissions For Quadrennial Prize

The Royal Belgian Numismatic Society accepts submissions for its quadrennial prize. The prize rewards a dissertation on a numismatic topic. The next prize will be given in March 2022 – if the jury finds a work worthy of the award. So check out the regulations!

Watch the 2021 COTY Ceremony Online

In 2021 the traditional ceremony for the Coin of the Year Awards was not held as usually. The pandemic made it necessary to shift from real to virtual life for the 2021 Awards Ceremony. You can watch the ceremony online now.

François de Callataÿ Receives Medal of the Royal Numismatic Society

François de Callataÿ has been awarded with the medal of the Royal Numismatic Society. The society has chosen the Belgian numismatist because he is “highly distinguished for services to Numismatic Science”.

Mark Borckardt Honored with The Herbert Silberman Award

As one of just 10 specialists in the last 40 years, Mark Borckardt, Senior Cataloger and Senior Numismatist at Heritage Auctions, has been awarded The Herbert Silberman Award by the Early American Coppers Club.

What Makes an Art Medal a Great Art Medal?

Was the vote on the 2021 American Medal of the Year influenced by what can be called zeitgeist? Ursula Kampmann dared to raise this question in her editorial. Find here the answers of two eminent members of the jury involved: Mel Wacks and Philip Atwood.

Natanya Van Niekerk Receives COTY Lifetime Achievement Award

Natanya Van Niekerk created almost 20 award-winning coin designs, two of which went on to win the overall COTY. Now she was given the COTY Lifetime Achievement Award. COTY coordinator Tom Michael pays tribute to an exceptional coin designer.