Wednesday, 2023.11.29
Sponsored by

Tag: Awards

Beth Deisher Receives the 2022 Q. David Bowers Award

In 2022, the Central States Numismatic Society honors Beth Deisher with the annual Q. David Bowers Award. The numismatic journalist was chosen for her lifetime achievements in the field of numismatics.

Thomas Pesendorfer Honored With 2022 COTY Lifetime Achievement Award

Thomas Pesendorfer was involved in designing many award-winning coins for the Austrian Mint comprising the famous Vienna Philharmonic bullion coin. Now Pesendorfer has received the COTY Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Winners of the 2022 Shekel Prize Announced

The American Israel Numismatic Association has announced the winners for the 2022 Shekel Prize for books on biblical coins. Find out more about the two winners and their prize-winning books here.

Winner of the ANS’s First Collier Prize Announced

In 2020 the ANS announced a new award, the Collier Prize for the best book on ancient numismatics with a prize money of $20,000. The first winner is Richard Abdy’s “Roman Imperial Coinage” vol. II. 3 on the coinage of the Emperor Hadrian.

Canadian Recognition Medal Wins International Award

The Recognition Medal by the Royal Canadian Mint raised almost $750,000 for the Breakfast Club of Canada in 2020. Now the medal has won the IACA award for the Best Currency Initiative in Response to the Covid-19 Pandemic.

These Coins Were the Winners of “Coin Constellation 2021”

“Coin Constellation” has announced the winners of the XV edition in 2021. The only international contest for commemorative coins in Russia has determined winners in nine different categories. The Coin of the Year motif is very characteristic of the pandemic.

Former ANA President Removed From ANA Accolade

The highest honor of the American Numismatic Association has been the Farran Zerbe Memorial Award. However, many award winners have asked to rename the award because a retrospective look reveals a rather ambiguous image of former ANA President Zerbe.

American Numismatic Society 2022 Gala Honors David Hendin

David Hendin will be the next awardee of the ANS Trustees’ Award. The renowned expert on Levant numismatics will receive the award during the ANS Gala dinner in January 2022.

Numismatic Literary Guild Awards 2021 Presented

The Numismatic Literary Guild has presented their annual awards for 2021. Roger W. Burdette is this year’s recipient of The Clemy, the highest honor given by the NLG. Numismatic Guaranty Corporation alone received five awards.

ANA Honors Distinguished Numismatists with Awards

The American Numismatic Association has given their annual awards to members honoring their service and dedication to numismatics. Here is a complete list of the awardees who were acknowledged at the Chicago World’s Fair of Money in 2021.