ANA Members Vote For New President Ralph W. Ross

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=4]

Voting members of the American Numismatic Association (ANA) have chosen a new president and vice president, and soon will be welcoming three new individuals and six incumbents to its Board of Governors for the 2021-23 election term. Incoming President Dr. Ralph W. Ross and Vice President-elect Joseph E. Boling will be joined by new board members Charles Morgan and Mark Lighterman, along with returning members Mary Lynn Garrett, Clifford Mishler, Shanna Schmidt, Michael Ellis and Rob Oberth.

For President

Ralph W. Ross, Ph. D (2,749 votes)

Donald H. Kagin, Ph. D (2,732 votes)

For Vice President

Joseph E. Boling (1 vote)

Candidates for Governor

Mary Lynn Garrett (4,165 votes)

Clifford Mishler (4,111 votes)

Shanna Schmidt (3,991 votes)

Michael Ellis (3,989 votes)

Rob Oberth (3,985 votes)

Charles Morgan (3,911 votes)

Mark Lighterman (3,910 votes)

Unelected Candidates for Governor

Muriel Eymery (3,823 votes)

Mary Lynn Garrett was the top vote receiver. Vice President-elect Joseph E. Boling ran unopposed. In the event that a board member cannot fulfill their term, the runner-up will fill the vacant seat for the remainder of the two-year term.

The new board will be sworn-in at the annual ANA Banquet on 13th August 2021, at the World’s Fair of Money® in Rosemont, Ill. Ross will become the Association’s 62nd president, succeeding current President Col. Steven Ellsworth, who will serve as a non-voting, ex-officio member of the board. Donald H. Kagin lost his bid for President by a narrow margin; Muriel Eymery will be leaving the Board. After 10 years of service, Greg Lyon will be leaving the Board due to term limits.

ANA members had the option to vote by either electronic or paper ballot. Out of 5,560 total votes, 3,720 were cast by paper ballot while another 1,840 members voted electronically, representing 33.09 percent of votes cast. The election was conducted and tabulated by Election Services Corporation of Hauppauge, New York. Overall, 19,027 ANA members were eligible to vote in this election; 29.22 percent of eligible voters participated. To be eligible to vote, members have to be at least 13 years old and a member of the Association for at least one year as of 31st March of the election year. In 2019, 19,737 members were eligible to vote; a total of 6,131 votes were cast, representing 31.06 percent of eligible members.


You can find more information on the American Numismatic Association’s website.

Here you can find the results of the 2019 ANA election.