ANA Honors Distinguished Numismatists and Writers with Awards

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=4]

Every year, the American Numismatic Association gives awards to members who go above and beyond with their service and dedication to numismatics and to authors of excellent articles published in “The Numismatist”. This year all awards will be presented virtually.

ANA Honors Distinguished Numismatists with Awards

Every year, the American Numismatic Association recognizes members who go above and beyond with their service and dedication to numismatics. The following awards, which are typically presented at the World’s Fair of Money®, will be awarded during the Service Awards Presentation virtual event on September 2, 2020 at 12 p.m. MT.

The Adna G. Wilde Jr. Memorial Award for Exemplary Service recognizes ANA members who dedicate their time and resources to further the educational purposes of the Association and the hobby, and who set an example for others. This year’s recipient is Doug Davis, founder and president of the Numismatic Crime Information Center (NCIC) based in Arlington, Texas. His work has led to the recovery of untold rare numismatic items, and he has recently taken on the battle against counterfeiting. In 2019 Davis became the director of the Anti-Counterfeiting Task Force.

The Medal of Merit is bestowed on members who have dedicated years of service to numismatics. The medal is being presented to both Dr. Michael S. Fey and Thomas J. Uram this year.

Fey has served the ANA as a member of the Consumer Protection Committee (2001-05 and 2007-08), Board of Governors (2005-07), Mediation Committee (2007-18) and, currently, the Advisory Council. Michael Fey has published a variety of works.

Thomas Uram has proven to be a dedicated promoter of numismatics and a stalwart supporter of the two organizations he is most closely associated with, The Pennsylvania Association of Numismatists (PAN) and the ANA. He has occupied many positions in the Association and is part of numerous communities and clubs. Further, Uram has served on the United States Mint Citizens Coinage Advisory Committee (Speaker of the House appointment) since 2012. Now on his second five-year term, he has chaired the organization since 2019.

Harry J. Forman Dealer of the Year honors a professional numismatist who shows uncommon dedication to strengthening the hobby and the ANA, and displays exemplary ethical standards as a numismatic dealer.

This year’s recipient is Harlan J. Berk. Berk describes himself as a “dealer’s dealer” in ancient coins, having been in the business for 56 years. He specializes in Greek, Roman and Byzantine specimens, U.S. large cents and proof-like dollars. Berk has published three books and has been a contributing editor for “The Numismatist” since the mid-1990s.

Exceptional Numismatic Writers Receive ANA Awards

2020 Adult Numismatist Literary Award Winners

The American Numismatic Association’s 2020 literary awards – recognizing articles published in the 2019 volume of its official magazine, “The Numismatist” – will be presented virtually on September 1, 2020 at 12 p.m. (MDT).

The Heath Literary Award acknowledges outstanding articles published in the preceding 12 months. First place goes to Tom DeLorey and Dan Owens for “Not a Ghost of a Chance: Revisiting the Mystery of the 1873-S Seated Liberty Dollars” (July 2019). The authors will receive $250 and engraved nickel-silver medals designed in 2013 by artist and ANA member Jamie Franki.

The Wayte and Olga Raymond Memorial Literary Award, endowed in 1978 by the late John J. Ford Jr., is presented for articles that display original and comprehensive research in U.S. numismatics. DeLorey and Owens’ study received first place ($400 and a certificate).

Funded by an anonymous donor, the Catherine Sheehan Literary Award for U.S. Paper Money Studies includes $50 for first place. Heinz Tschachler took the top prize for “The Wildman in the New World” (September 2019).

The Prue and Arthur Fitts Literary Award for Ancient and Medieval Coinage Studies recognizes literary excellence in those fields. Thomas A. Palmer received first place ($250 and a plaque) for “From the Sublime to the Ridiculous: Celtic Imitations of Thasian Tetradrachms” (November 2019).

All feature articles published in “The Numismatist” automatically are considered for the Heath Literary Award; likewise, all qualifying articles are evaluated for the Raymond, Sheehan and Fitts awards.

2020 Young Numismatist Literary Award Winners

The ANA also presents annual awards to encourage young writers and ensure a corps of future numismatic authors and researchers. The Young Numismatist Literary Award categories are named in honor of Whitman authors dedicated to educating the next generation of numismatists. YN Literary Awards will be celebrated at the September 1, 2020 virtual ceremonies at 12 p.m. (MDT).

First place in each category received a $500 cash prize, plus a $500 voucher to help build a personal library of numismatic books produced by Whitman Publishing. Second place received a $200 book voucher and third place received a $100 book voucher. The prizes were provided by Whitman Publishing.

The Q. David Bowers Young Numismatist Literary Award honors numismatist writers that are aged 13 to 17. This year’s first place recipient is Alexandre G. Bojko for “The Wonderful World of Pattern Coins: The History of Pattern Coinage from 1792-1880.” Luke W. Daniel placed second with “Throw Me Something, Mister! A History of Mardi Gras Doubloons,” and Caleb Audette took third with his paper on “Legendary Men of America’s Treasury Notes.”

The Kenneth E. Bressett Young Numismatist Literary Award is given to writers between the ages of 18 and 22. This year, first place was won by Cole Hendrickson for “John Gault and his New Metallic Currency.”


For more information on all awards go to the ANA website.