US Mint Suspends Redemption Program

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=4]

The United States Mint has temporarily ceased processing applications and material submitted to its Mutilated Coin Redemption Program pending the development of additional Program safeguards. Updates on the status of the Program will be posted here as soon as they become available.

In the 1980s the United States Mint established the Mutilated Coin Redemption Program so people and businesses could exchange bent and partial coins (commonly referred to as mutilated coins) for reimbursement. But then concerns arose that the programme was being exploited with counterfeits submitted by oversea vendors, especially from China. Therefore the program was suspended between 2015 and January 2018 to allow the Mint to assess its security and develop further safeguards.

Submitting coins for reimbursement

Submission requirements vary depending on how much is submitted annually and whether you submit as an individual or a company. The varying requirements help to appropriately process all mutilated coin shipments. Mutilated coins submitted for redemption must meet certain acceptance criteria.

Coins submitted for exchange must be clean, free of debris, free of residual substance(s) on the surface, and identifiable as United States coins. The U.S. Mint reserves the right to reject any submission that does not conform to these guidelines or contains any contaminant. Past material acceptance does not guarantee future acceptance.

Due to the high number of applications and quantities of coins for redemption, the heavy volume and precise nature of the work may result in substantial wait times. We appreciate the public’s patience during the relaunching of the mutilated coin redemption program. Applications are reviewed in the order they are received. If your application is for greater than 70 pounds, you will be contacted at the time that their deliveries can be scheduled.

U.S. Mint Material Acceptance Criteria

The U.S. Mint accepts for redemption:

  • Bent or partial coins
  • Weighing no less than 1 pound (0.4536 kilograms)
  • Separated by denomination category: Penny, Nickel, Dime, Quarters, Halves, and Eisenhower Dollars; Susan B. Anthony Dollars, Sacagawea Golden Dollar, and Presidential $1 coins

The U.S. Mint will not accept for redemption:

  • Bent or partial coins that are not readily and clearly identifiable as to the genuineness and denomination of the coins
  • Bent and partial coins not presented separately by denomination category in lots of at least 1 pound for each denomination
  • Fused coins
  • Mixed coins, with the exception of bent or partial one-cent coins and $1 coins presented in mixed years

Unacceptable items, not classified as mutilated coins, that the U.S. Mint does not redeem are:

  • Foreign coins
  • Counterfeit coins
  • Slugs
  • Altered coins, changed to pass as another denomination
  • Precious coins (silver or gold)
  • Uncurrent coins


Further reading can be done on the US Mint website.