New US Mint Director Nominated

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=4]

October 16, 2012 – Since Edmund C. Moy’s retirement in January 2011 the US Mint has had no director but has been managed by Richard A. Peterson, the Deputy Director. On September 20, 2012 US President Barack Obama announced new nominations of key positions in his administration among them a new mint director.

The chosen person is a woman, Bibiana Boerio who held various positions with Ford and Jaguar before entering the political sphere. Ms Boerio has a BS in Textiles and Design and an MBA in Accounting and Finance. After graduating in 1976 she worked with the Ford Motor Company in the areas of product development, manufacturing, sales and corporate business planning before joining Jaguar where she was a Finance Director from 1995 until 2000.
Between 2000 and 2007 Ms Boerio served as Ford Credit’s Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer and as Director of finance and strategy, followed by a period as Managing Director of Jaguar Cars Limited.
In 2008 she left Ford and being herself a Democrat became Democratic Congressman Joe Sestak’s Chief of Staff until 2010. Lately she was as special adviser to the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Detroit Regional Chamber of Commerce and served as well in non-profit organizations.

You will find a full biography of Bibiana Boerio here.

And there is an article about Ms Boerio at AllGov.

A comprehensive list of all previous US Mint directors is available at the website of the US Mint.