New UNESCO Heritage Sites

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=4]

July 13, 2017 – The UNESCO World Heritage Committee has added 21 sites to the World Heritage List during the 41st meeting in Krakow from 2 to 12 July 2017. Five sites were extended and for the first time Angola and Eritrea are present in the prestigious list.

The new sites (in alphabetical order of the countries):

  • Old town of M’banza Kongo (Angola)
  • National park Los Alerces (Argentinia)
  • Archaeological site Valongo-Kai (Brazil)
  • Kulangsu: a historic international settlement (China)
  • Qinghai Hoh Xil (China)
  • Kujataa Greenland – Norse and Inuit Farming at the Edge of the Ice Cap (Denmark)
  • Caves and Ice Age Art in the Swabian Jura (Germany)
  • Asmara: Africa’s Modernist City (Eritrea)
  • Taputapuatea (France/ Polynesia)
  • Historic City of Ahmadabad (India)
  • Historic City of Yazd (Iran)
  • Sacred Island of Okinoshima and Associated Sites in the Munakata Region (Japan)
  • Temple Zone of Sambor Prei Kuk, Archaeological Site of Ancient Ishanapura (Cambodia)
  • Venetian Works of Defence between the 16th and 17th Centuries: Stato da Terra – Western Stato da Mar (Croatia, Italy, Montenegro)
  • Landscapes of Dauria (Mongolia, Russin Federation)
  • Hebron/Al-Khalil Old Town (Palestine)
  • Tarnowskie Góry Lead-Silver-Zinc Mine and its Underground Water Management System (Poland)
  • Assumption Cathedral and Monastery of the town-island of Sviyazhsk (Russian Federation)
  • Khomani Cultural Landscape (South Africa)
  • Aphrodisias (Turkey)
  • Lake District (United Kingdom)

These sites have been extended (in alphabetical order of the countries):

  • Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe [extension to “Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Ancient Beech Forests of Germany” Germany, Slovakia, Ukraine] (Albania / Austria / Belgium / Bulgaria / Croatia / Italy / Romania / Slovenia / Spain / Ukraine)
  • W-Arly-Pendjari Complex [extension of the “W. National Park of Niger”, Niger] (Benin/Burkina Faso)
  • The Bauhaus and its Sites in Weimar, Dessau and Bernau (Germany)
  • Strasbourg: from Grande-île to Neustadt, a European urban scene (France)
  • Monastery of Gelati [excluding Bagrati cathedral] (Georgia)

You can find detailed information on the UNESCO website.

A video of the meeting is still available as livestream.

And most of the sites are presented in video clips here.