IOC Honorary member Professor Walther Tröger receives World Money Fair Award 2010

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=4]

June 3rd, 2010 – Prof. Walther Tröger has been awarded during the 15th World Olympic Collectors’ Fair at the German Sport and Olympic Museum Cologne, April 16th – 18th, with the prestigious World Money Fair award.

The ceremony of handing over the prize (r. to l.): Henning Goehrum (president World Money Fair), Prof. Walther Tröger (IOC honorary member) and Albert M. Beck (honorary president World Money Fair)

In the LAUDATIO for Prof. Walther Tröger Albert M. Beck, founder and honorary president World Money Fair as well as executive member of the IOC collectors’ commission pointed out that the merits of Prof. Walther Tröger for Olympic numismatics are outstanding. He has been supporting Olympic coins and Olympic coin programmes since 1970. All Olympic coin programmes since 1992 (Albertville and Barcelona) were officially launched at World Money Fair. Since then Prof. Walther Tröger officially represented the International Olympic Committee at all first launching ceremonies with one exception, when former IOC president J. A. Samaranch opened World Money Fair 1994 himself with the assistance of a NOC delegation from Norway in order to highlight and support the Olympic commemorative coins for the Olympic Winter Games in Lillehammer.

Opening Ceremony 15th World Olympic Collectors’ Fair Cologne Germany (l. to r.): Manfred Wolf (Mayor of Cologne), Dr. Agnes Klein (Deputy Mayor of Cologne Department for education, youth and sports), IOC honorary member Prof. Walther Tröger and David Maiden (coordinator IOC collectors? commission).

World Money Fair and its collectors still remember with a great respect Prof. Walther Tröger’s supports when China and Canada were official guest of honour at World Money Fair in Berlin in order to present their Olympic coin programmes “Beijing 2008” and “Vancouver 2010” respectively.
World Money Fair is the World leading numismatic convention heralded since 40 years.
The World Money Fair award is given for outstanding numismatic achievements.