IACA – Currency Hall of Fame

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=4]

March 12, 2013 – The Board of Directors of the International Association of Currency Affairs (IACA) is now requesting nominations for candidates to be inducted into the Currency Hall of Fame™ in May in Athens. The Currency Hall of Fame honours distinguished persons or organizations that have contributed to the currency industry in their home countries and around the world, providing a permanent public record and memorial of the achievements of its members.

Periodically, IACA will induct new honorees into the Currency Hall of Fame when the industry gathers for the Currency Conference. Anyone may nominate a candidate for consideration by the IACA Board. Candidates should have made significant contributions to the industry, either deceased or living (in the latter case, having retired from their primary career in the industry and who have reached the age of 60). Additionally, nominees may be groups or organizations that have made extraordinary contributions to the currency industry.
According to IACA, nominees will be welcomed from all sources, including central banks, industry suppliers, commercial organizations, and financial institutions. Candidates need not be in or from the currency industry, only to have made substantial and lasting contributions to it; a significant industry event or a group may also be nominated for induction to the Hall of Fame. IACA requires that inductees, or delegates representing them, participate in the induction ceremony.

Nominating sponsors will be required to submit a written proposal explaining the basis for nomination, and in the case of individuals, a copy of the candidate’s curriculum vitae or a biographical statement. Similar documentation will be required for groups or organizations. The deadline for nominations for the current cycle is March 1.

The inaugural induction ceremony, held at the 2011 Currency Conference in Singapore, saw four individuals honoured, all now deceased, who between them changed the face of the banknote industry – ATM inventor John Shepherd-Barron, Siegfried Otto of Giesecke & Devrient, Albert Amon of SICPA and Gualtiero Giori of what is now KBA NotaSys but which for years bore his name.

Further details can be obtained from Eugenie Foster, Executive Director, IACA via e-mail.

This article has been taken from the February issue of ‘Currency news’.

More information about the IACA is available here.

And this is the IACA Hall of Fame.