Coin Constellation-2016 coming up

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=4]

July 7, 2016 – The gala-ceremony of the announcement of the “Coin Constellation-2016” results and rewarding of winners will take place on 22 September 2016 in Moscow. This year more than 240 commemorative coins as well as 21 coin series minted since 1 January till 31 December 2015 have been presented to the contest “Coin Constellation-2016”. Applications have been sent by 44 participants representing 29 countries.


The participants of the Tenth commemorative coins contest “Coin Constellation-2016”: Bank of Russia, Central Bank of Armenia, Bank of Israel, Bank of Latvia, Bank of Lithuania, National Bank of the Kyrgyz Republic, National Bank of Poland, National Bank of the Republic of Belarus, National Bank of the Republic of Kazakhstan, Trans-Dniester Republican Bank. 

The leading mints: Moscow Mint of Goznak (Russia), St. Petersburg Mint of Goznak (Russia), Monnaie de Paris (France), Hungarian Mint, Italian State Mint, Kazakhstan Mint, Royal Spanish Mint, Royal Canadian Mint, Royal Dutch Mint, The Austrian Mint, Casa de Moneda de México, Mint of Poland, United States Mint, Mint of Finland, Japan Mint, Pobjoy Mint Ltd (Great Britain), ART MINT (France), Helvetic Mint AG (Switzerland), Imprensa Nacional-Casa Da Moeda (Portugal), The Perth Mint (Australia), Federal Mint Swissmint.

The companies: China Banknote Printing and Minting Corporation (CBPM), Coin Invest Trust (Lichtenstein), Downies (Australia), International Coin House AG (Switzerland), Moneda Nueva (Spain), NumisCollect (The Netherlands), Numiscom GmbH & Co. KG (Germany), Tatfondbank (Russia), Transstroibank (Russia), Proof Association (Russia), Russian Agricultural Bank (Russia), Treasures of Oz Pty Ltd (Australia), New Zealand Post.

Contest nominations

The contest nominations are as follows: 

  • Unique concept
  • Successful artistic solution
  • Original technology
  • Coin classic
  • Souvenir coin
  • Series (issue) of the year
  • Silver coin of the year
  • Gold coin of the year
  • Coin of the year


The winners are nominated by the absentee voting of the contest committee members on the basis of the images and descriptions of the coins. The contest committee includes numismatic experts and people of art from different countries. They are representatives of the world famous museums, auctions, numismatic associations, specialized periodicals on coins from different countries etc. 

The tenth “People’s Choice Award” is being nominated by voting online at the official page of the contest at the numismatic portal Everyone can take part in online voting. Coin with most of the visitors’ votes will receive “People’s Choice Award”. All visitors who vote at the site take part in a special lottery. The lucky ones will get commemorative coins made of precious metals as well as subscriptions for 2017 of specialized magazine about coins The Gold Chervonets Magazine. Also the free subscription will be given to visitors who posted most of the comments while choosing the best coin. The open online voting will be held until 15 September 2016.

Awarding ceremony

The official announcement of the results of the contest and giving out the awards will take place at the Awarding ceremony, which will be held on 22 September 2016 in Moscow at the Seventh International Coin Conference and Exhibition COINS-2016.

Organizer and information partners

The organizer of the commemorative coins contest “Coin Constellation-2016” is the Water Mark Publishing House, the publisher of the specialized magazine on coins and medals The Gold Chervonets and the organizer of the International Coin Conference and Exhibition COINS.
Information partners are the Gold Chervonets Magazine, The Analytical Banking Magazine, Numismatics Magazine, The National Banking Journal, The PLUS journal, Monnaie Magazine, Publishing and printing house “InterCrim-press”, Biblio-Globus, numismatic company

Additional information about the commemorative coins contest and the awarding ceremony are available here.

Find out more about the partners and affiliates here.

And here you can read about the contest’s history since 2007, its participants and winners.