“Ancient British Coins” wins RNS award

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=4]

by Chris Rudd

March 1, 2012 – The authors of Ancient British Coins – Elizabeth Cottam, Philip de Jersey, Chris Rudd, John Sills – have been awarded the Lhotka Prize by the Royal Numismatic Society.

The Lhotka Prize was endowed to the RNS in 1962 by Professor J. F. Lhotka of the University of Oklahoma, in memory of his father Dr. J. F. Lhotka. The prize is given ‘to the author adjudged to have published in the previous two calendar years the book or article in English most helpful to the elementary student of numismatics’.

“We are pleased to have received this award”, says Elizabeth Cottam, “because our main aim was always to keep ABC simple and easy to use.”

For more information visit the website of Chris Rudd.

To read more on the distinguished Royal Numismatic Society, please click here.

A comprehensive list of all winners of the Lhotka Memorial Prize since 1963 you will find here.