ANA – Elections

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=4]

April 14, 2011 – Eleven members of the American Numismatic Association have submitted completed nominations for the 2011-13 Board of Governors election, Executive Director Larry Shepherd has announced.

One candidate is running for President; two for Vice President and eight for seven Governor seats. Each Board member serves a two-year term, and all are elected by the ANA membership on an at-large basis. Nominations closed on March 31; candidates have until April 7 to accept or decline their nominations.

ANA Vice President Tom Hallenbeck of Colorado Springs is running unopposed for President. Arthur M. Fitts of Wolfeboro, NH and Governor Walter Ostromecki of Panorama City, CA are running for Vice President.

Candidates for Governor are (listed alphabetically):
* Gary Adkins of Minneapolis, MN
* Michael L. Ellis of Camilla, GA
* Jeff C. Garrett of Lexington, KY
* Greg Lyon of St. Louis, MO
* J. P. Martin of Englewood, CO
* Clifford Mishler of Iola, WI
* Scott Rottinghaus of New London, CT
* Wendell A. Wolka of Greenwood, IN

Election ballots, as well as candidate photographs and biographies / platforms, will be sent by the independent auditing firm of BiggsKofford, P.C., to eligible voting ANA members. The envelope, with a BiggsKofford return address, will indicate that a ballot is enclosed. Ballots will be mailed by June 15 and must be returned to the auditing firm by July 15. Election results will be announced on July 27 with the new Board of Governors sworn in at the ANA’s World’s Fair of Money convention banquet in Chicago on August 20.

Nine of the candidates attended an open candidates’ forum during the National Money Show in Sacramento; a video of the event will be posted in April at and on  Candidates also will answer an election questionnaire, with responses published in the June issue of The Numismatist and posted in May at