2019 IACA Excellence in Currency Awards

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=4]

The finalists for the 14th round of the IACA Excellence in Currency Awards, sponsored by Currency News(TM), have been announced, and voting by International Association of Currency Affairs member has now concluded.

Over 55 nominations were received. The finalists were chosen by a panel of seven industry experts including four former central bankers.

The finalists are as follows:

Best New Banknote or Series

  • Central Bank of Armenia – new series of Armenian banknotes issued in commemoration of the 25th anniversary of the Armenian currency;
  • Reserve Bank of Australia – next generation $50 banknote;
  • Bank of Canada – new vertical $10 banknote, the introduction of which marks a shift towards a staggered approach to note issuance;
  • Bank of Mexico – new 500 peso banknote – the first in a new family of banknotes that pay homage to the historical and natural heritage of Mexico;
  • Norges Bank – new banknote series, for which the sea was selected as the overall theme because of its importance for Norway’s business sector and economic prosperity.

Best New Commemorative or Limited Circulation Banknote

  • Bank of Canada – $10 banknote issued in celebration of the 150th anniversary of Confederation;
  • Bank of Papua New Guinea – 100 Kina APEC commemorative banknote issued as part of the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Summit held in Port Moresby;
  • Central Bank of Uruguay – 50 peso banknote celebrating 50 years since the establishment of the Bank.

Best Banknote Processing Innovation

  • CDI2 (Common Detector Interface 2) – an open standard for high speed banknote sorting machines created by the Federal Reserve System and the European Central Bank;
  • CPS’ SmartFeed™ X10 – a new automatic feeder designed for large cash processing operations;
  • Giesecke + Devrient’s NotaTracc® – improves the handling of banknotes throughout the cash cycle and complements G+D’s high-speed processing systems.

Best Banknote Public Education Program, Website, or App

  • Bank of Canada – digital storytelling and online engagement to provide an interactive story of the new $10 banknote;
  • Reserve Bank of Australia – a suite of special communication activities tailored to meet the information needs of priority audience groups for the new series $10 and $50 banknotes;
  • South African Reserve Bank – currency app to drive awareness and education on the various features of the new commemorative South African banknote series.

The winners in all the award categories will be announced at the Currency Conference Gala Dinner to be held on 10 April in Dubai.

This article was first published in Currency News 17 no. 2 February 2019, p. 12.

To learn more about the IACA program go to the IACA website.

If you wish to register for the next year’s awards click here.

For more information on Currency News go to their website.