2017 Coin of the Year Awards category winners announced

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=4]

December 22, 2016 – Krause Publications have announced the winners of the Coin of the Year Award 2017. This year Finland and the United States were the top winners bringing home two category awards each. From these 10 winners of the first round of World Coin News’ 2017 COTY the international panel of judges will be choose the Coin of the Year. The COTY and the category winners will be given their trophies on February 4, 2017, at the World Money Fair in Berlin.
All coins in the contest are dated 2015.

Best Bi-Metallic Coin

Finland: 5 euro / Lapland reindeer (KM-224)

Best Silver Coin

Finland: 10 euro / 70th anniversary of peace after World War II (KM-226)

Best Circulating Coin

United States: America the Beautiful Quarter / Kisatchie National Forest (KM-598)

Most Inspirational Coin

United States: March of Dimes silver dollar / 60th anniversary of the Salk polio vaccine (KM-604)

Most Artistic Coin

Italy: 10 euro silver / 70 years of Peace in Europe (KM-387)

Best Contemporary Event Coin

Japan: gold 10,000 yen / Great East Japan Earthquake Reconstruction (Y-248)

Most Historically Significant Coin

Canada: $20 silver / 100th anniversary of the poem “In Flanders Fields” by John McCrae (KM-1860)

Best Crown

Great Britain: copper-nickel 5-pound coin / 50th anniversary of Sir Winston Churchill (KM-1298)

Best Gold Coin

Austria: 100 euro / Capercaille (KM-3246)

Most Innovative Coin

Cook Islands (designed by Coin Invest Trust): silver $2 / Space-Time Continuum – Black Hole Shaped Coin with Magnetic Sphere (KM-1693)

The COTY Awards are sponsored by World Coin News, the World Money Fair and the Journal of East Asian Numismatics.

A complete list of all COTY winners since 1984 is available here.