2016 IAPN book prize for Hugo Vanhoudt

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=4]

March 9, 2017 – Every year since 1982, IAPN assigns an honour literary Prize to award a book dealing with Numismatics. The award was attributed by IAPN President Mr Arne Kirsch and the executive Director Mr Jean-Luc Van der Schueren and by other association members to Hugo Vanhoudt for his book “Burgundian, Spanish and Austrian Netherlands and French and Dutch period coins 1434-1830”. 

Book cover.

The book was written in 3 languages, Flemisch, French and English. Heverlee 2015, canvas bound, (17,5 x 24,7 cm), 622 pages, more than 2000 colours photos. ISBN 978-90-802-8784-3.

This work of art gathers the coins minted from 1434 up to 1830, between Philippe le Bon injunction (Duke of Burgundy) and the end of the common mintage under William 1st (king of Netherlands before the proclamation of Belgian indipendence), geographically it covers more territory than present Netherlands and Belgium.
Some rarity index and a list with prices assessment are included in the book to complete it.

IAPN’s book price honours numimatics authors, because the organisation considers this work as “the best numismatics publication of the year”. The first place consists of a medal, a diploma and a financial compensation.

To access the website of the IAPN, please click here.