2012 and 2013 Huntington Awards for excellence in numismatic scholarship

[bsa_pro_ad_space id=4]

March 28, 2013 – The American Numismatic Society announces Dr. Ioannis Touratsoglou and Prof. Olivier Picard as the respective recipients of the 2012 and 2013 Archer M. Huntington Awards. The citation awards and medals will be presented by ANS Executive Director Dr. Ute Wartenberg Kagan and Deputy Director Dr. Andrew Meadows at 19:00h on May 14th in Greece at the American School of Classical Studies at Athens, Cotsen Hall, Anapiron Polemou 9, Kolonaki.

The Huntington Medal is conferred annually in honor of the late Archer M. Huntington in recognition of outstanding numismatic scholarship. The medal was designed in 1908 by Emil Fuchs to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the founding of the American Numismatic Society.

Dr. Touratsoglou is by any estimation a dynamic figure in Greek numismatics and archaeology (particularly that of northern Greece). Through his service as Curator (1982-1994), then Director of the Numismatic Museum of Athens (1994-2002) and Director at the National Archaeological Museum (1999-2002), and his vast publication record (some 90 numismatic books and articles plus over 60 more in related fields), he has inspired and molded a generation of younger scholars in Greece.

Prof. Picard’s teaching, first at the University of Paris X Nanterre (1971-1993) and then at the Sorbonne (Paris IV) (1993-present), archaeological work (especially at Thasos and Alexandria), and corpus of over 200 books and articles have together made him a preeminent figure in French numismatic scholarship. His impact is perhaps best gauged by the number of his students who now hold important academic positions and his tireless promotion of the use of numismatic evidence to those outside the field.

For more information about the Huntington Medal Award visit the ANS website