New UNESCO Heritage Sites

July 13, 2017 – The UNESCO World Heritage Committee has added 21 sites to the World Heritage List during the 41st meeting in Krakow from 2 to 12 July 2017. Five sites were extended and for the first time Angola and Eritrea are present in the prestigious list.

The new sites (in alphabetical order of the countries):

  • Old town of M’banza Kongo (Angola)
  • National park Los Alerces (Argentinia)
  • Archaeological site Valongo-Kai (Brazil)
  • Kulangsu: a historic international settlement (China)
  • Qinghai Hoh Xil (China)
  • Kujataa Greenland – Norse and Inuit Farming at the Edge of the Ice Cap (Denmark)
  • Caves and Ice Age Art in the Swabian Jura (Germany)
  • Asmara: Africa’s Modernist City (Eritrea)
  • Taputapuatea (France/ Polynesia)
  • Historic City of Ahmadabad (India)
  • Historic City of Yazd (Iran)
  • Sacred Island of Okinoshima and Associated Sites in the Munakata Region (Japan)
  • Temple Zone of Sambor Prei Kuk, Archaeological Site of Ancient Ishanapura (Cambodia)
  • Venetian Works of Defence between the 16th and 17th Centuries: Stato da Terra - Western Stato da Mar (Croatia, Italy, Montenegro)
  • Landscapes of Dauria (Mongolia, Russin Federation)
  • Hebron/Al-Khalil Old Town (Palestine)
  • Tarnowskie Góry Lead-Silver-Zinc Mine and its Underground Water Management System (Poland)
  • Assumption Cathedral and Monastery of the town-island of Sviyazhsk (Russian Federation)
  • Khomani Cultural Landscape (South Africa)
  • Aphrodisias (Turkey)
  • Lake District (United Kingdom)

These sites have been extended (in alphabetical order of the countries):

  • Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe [extension to “Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Ancient Beech Forests of Germany” Germany, Slovakia, Ukraine] (Albania / Austria / Belgium / Bulgaria / Croatia / Italy / Romania / Slovenia / Spain / Ukraine)
  • W-Arly-Pendjari Complex [extension of the “W. National Park of Niger”, Niger] (Benin/Burkina Faso)
  • The Bauhaus and its Sites in Weimar, Dessau and Bernau (Germany)
  • Strasbourg: from Grande-île to Neustadt, a European urban scene (France)
  • Monastery of Gelati [excluding Bagrati cathedral] (Georgia)

You can find detailed information on the UNESCO website.

A video of the meeting is still available as livestream.

And most of the sites are presented in video clips here.

Subscribe to our newsletter now

Get the latest news from the world of numismatics promptly delivered once a week by email.

← back